School Mental Health Project


Previous Information From the Center Related to
the Response to Hurricane Katrina

Crisis, emergency, disaster, catastrophe, tragedy, trauma -- all are words heard too frequently at schools today. Almost every school has had a major crisis; every school is likely to have one. Besides natural disasters such as earthquakes and fires, students experience violence and death related to the suicide of friends, gang activity, snipers, hostage-taking, and rape. Some students react with severe emotional responses -- fear, grief, post traumatic stress syndrome. Moreover, such experiences and other events that threaten their sense of worth and well-being can produce the type of intense personal turmoil that leads students to think about hurting themselves or others.

Funded Research Projects Focusing on the Aftermath Thursday 9/7/06 Wednesday 7/12/06 Tuesday 11/22/05
Tuesday 11/8/05 Thursday 10/20/05 Wednesday 10/12/05 Thursday 10/6/05
Thursday 9/22/05 Monday 9/19/05 Friday 9/16/05 Thursday 9/15/05
Wednesday 9/14/05 Tuesday 9/13/05 Monday 9/12/05 Friday 9/9/05
Thursday 9/8/05 Wednesday 9/7/05 Tuesday 9/6/05 p.m. Tuesday 9/6/05 a.m.

Back to What's New

Search

Table of Contents

Guestbook/Mail list

UCLA School Mental Health Project
Center for Mental Health in Schools
WebMaster: Perry Nelson (smhp@ucla.edu)